Upper Montclair C.C.

Course Description

At the turn of the 20thCentury, a small group of golfers playing on a rudimentary 5-hole golf course in a Montclair meadow merged with a social organization called the “Upper Ten Club”. Thus was formed the Upper Montclair Country Club. By the early 1920’s, after land had been acquired in the area of the present site, the legendary A.W. Tillinghast designed an 18-hole golf course. In the 1950’s a major course renovation was directed by Robert Trent Jones, Sr. which transformed the Upper Montclair Country Club into the present 27-hole Championship design.


1962 Thunderbird Classic - Gene Littler

1966 Thunderbird Classic - Mason Rudolph
1967 Thunderbird Classic - Arnold Palmer
1968 Thunderbird Classic - Robert John Murphy
1970 Dow Jones Open - Bobby Nichols

1993-2002 Cadillac NFL Classic
1993 Lee Trevino
1994 Raymond Floyd
1995 George Archer
1996 Bob Murphy
1997 Bruce Crampton
1998 Bob Dickson
1999 Allen Doyle
2000 Lee Trevino
2001 John Schroeder
2002 James Mason

1979 LPGA Coca-Cola Classic - Nancy Lopez
1980 LPGA Coca-Cola Classic - Donna Horton White
1983 LPGA Chrysler-Plymouth Classic - Pat Bradley
1984 LPGA Chrysler-Plymouth Classic - Barbara Bunkowsky
2007 LPGA Sybase Classic - Lorena Ochoa
2008 LPGA Sybase Classic - Lorena Ochoa
2009 LPGA Sybase Classic - Ji Young Oh

1932, 1948, 1959, and 1975 NJSGA Amateur Championship
2001 NJSGA Open Championship

This website requires javascript. Please enable it or visit HappyBrowser.com to find a modern browser.